Tuesday Photo Challenge – Healthy Grieving

Healthy 2

Healthy 1

April 2nd, 2017 would have been Randy’s 63rd birthday. He died of mountain biking accident 15 months ago. Randy was my husband’s best friend for 12 years. They were workout buddies. They went for pizza and movie once a week, and did mountain biking on Saturdays. We had regular game nights or barbecue dinners.

A year before Randy passed away, my husband got a job at an imagining center that required him to work overtime on weekdays and weekends. He was not able to do things with Randy as often as he wanted.

The second week of January, 2016, Randy went mountain biking with another friend. He had a terrible accident that smashed his head and face. He was pronounced dead upon arrival at the emergency room.

My husband and I were shocked of the incidence. Two weeks later, my husband finally broke out and cried for his loss of his best friend. I held him on my shoulder and stroke his back. I let him cry until he felt better. Some people think that “Big boys don’t cry.” But I think crying is a healthy way to express our grief for the loss. It’s healthy for big boys and big girls to cry and grief for their loss.

Tuesday Photo Challenge – Healthy Grieving

 

 

94 thoughts on “Tuesday Photo Challenge – Healthy Grieving

  1. So so sorry about your husband’s friend. I have a friend whose husband died while riding a motorbike on a trip with friends. He had a heart attack. My friend, was driving a few miles back with his personal belongings as well as their son. By the time she had caught up, he was gone.
    Sad things happen in life where crying is a good relief. I hope your husband is stronger from the tears release.❤️😢

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So sorry for your loss. What a tragic end for your and your husband’s friend. Crying is healthy for everyone. We all need to release our grief and sadness, and crying can be so cathartic.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m sorry to hear your loss. The boys lost a great friend also. I hear more and more cancer stories last 10 or 15 years. I survived for 8 years. Prior to that, people may just died without treating or not seeking help or medicine is not advance bring to the awareness? I’m curious! Nancy Reagan brought to the awareness of breast cancer…

      Like

  3. Such a tragedy. It’s terrible to lose someone who is so much in your life, spiritually as well as physically. There is a big space there. I’m sorry to hear of your loss. Thank you for writing about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I wasn’t sure if I was going to be able to post a comment to this because of my own devastating loss yet I’ve learned that by allowing myself to feel every emotion that surfaces, I’m also showing myself to heal…. I didn’t want to post a pic or story about healthy grieving yet my daily posts say it all as well as writing the quotes I wrote and post daily… I’m very sorry for your loss yet as my son said before he passed in my arms: “there is no end, we just go on a different journey!” And I believe that to be true… Much love to you ❤❤❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you so much for sharing this. Firstly, Light and love to you, to your husband and to the Soul of Randy for the highest good. 💙 Also, this is very good timing BC I’m aware of grieving things too. I love you Miriam. (I’m in NY for a visit and grieving the aspects I really loved, plus my ex)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Whomever made up the myth that big men don’t cry came from two generations back, when emotions of any kind were a sign of weakness. Not a very healthy society. Crying is always a good and healing therapy! Thanks for sharing this sad story.
    Dwight

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Dwight, exactly of what you said, my husband’s parents are not expressive. It affected the kids somewhat! Being with me for twenty some years, my husband feels comfortable talking to me and be himself. I was glad that he expressed his sorrow of loss!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Great friends are hard to find and the unexpected loss must have been devastating…I’m glad your husband can cry and be comforted. Takes a strong person to process things and even more so to comfort through such a loss, regardless of age and gender. I’m glad you believe in expression! Also, what a wonderful tribute to a great friend!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Tears are precious in that they release stocked up emotions as they flow away. I disagree with people that think men shouldn’t cry. In fact I’m fond of men who can own up to their emotions and laugh and cry alike!
    I’m so sorry to hear about Randy. It’s been a while since he incident I gather but loss is still hard to come to terms with. He can’t be replaced but he can be remembered fondly. I suppose that’s all we can do as mortals.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

