A Love Letter

20160910_150915

mmlw

Dear Mercy,

I’m so proud to have you as my daughter. You gave meaning to my life! For more than ten years when you were young, I overlooked my disappointments and emotional turmoil. All I could see was your beautiful smile. It gave me strength to move my feet, one step at a time.

You delighted me with your intelligence, and made your learning fun. You were like a sponge, soaked in every new learning as fast as it came. I referred you as book gobbler as you read books after books in no time. You were placed in GATE (Gifted and Talented Education) program at third grade. You had so much confidence. When we learned new things together, I said, “I can’t do it!” You said, “Mom, you can’t do it, if you believe you can!” I had to agree with you.

You were so kind and generous with your friends. When you had friends coming for “sleep over,” you sent them off the next day, with a whole bunch of your toys.

I was sad when we were isolated from each other for five long years. I only saw you once. It was during the time you were learning how to drive. I couldn’t call you because all the phone numbers were disconnected. The only contact I had was an email address. You couldn’t feel free to write.

The day we were reunited after you turned eighteen, was the most joyous day in my life. I wanted to be with you so much, even just sitting in the room while you did your college work or did things with your friends. I was just content that we were in each other’s life.

It touched my heart when you were growing into a kind, sensitive, considerate, helpful, tenderhearted, and compassionate young lady.

I enjoyed our hour-long conversation on the phone. I appreciated your trust and shared your feelings, concerns, or everyday life with me. You were not a little girl anymore. I shared my experience, my suggestions, but always encouraged you to make your own choices. My saying was always, “Don’t rush, listen and follow your heart!” In that, I believed that God would speak to your heart and helped you make the right choices.

I had so much fun doing ceramic painting with you just like we did when you were young. You know that I like to play table games with you.

I was thankful for your desire to serve the community and found a job that allowed you to help people in need. You could have worked for big financial firms and made good money. But your heart was, and is, with people. I’m so proud of you.

I’m grateful for God’s guidance in your life and bringing a loving husband to you. You both have a desire to learn and to grow. You both keep a healthy individual life by spending time with the gals and guys respectfully. I’m amazed of the closeness and helpfulness of your group of friends. Most of all, you also learn to be a sensitive spouse to each other and let your love and bonding grow. Your journey may have ups and downs but it is beautiful.

I’m privileged to have both you and Will in our life. I give thanks to God to keep us as a loving family. I always look forward to spending time with you both, either have you come to visit, or going to visit you. We’ll see you very soon, in less than a month.

I love you so very much!

Mom

lovebuary-logo

94 thoughts on “A Love Letter

  1. I missed how you and your daughter were separated. As you may have gathered I was estranged from my little girl from about 11 to 18. She was so brainwashed and would not see me. Then at 18 she returned. It was so wonderful then to have her back. But now again she has distanced herself as she had not completely dealt with the past. That is extra hard. I write but no reply. I call. No return. God see me through every day. It has been one year since we had a conversation. To gain back what you lost then to lose it again is overwhelming when I think. Your daughter is so very beautiful. God bless.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes we are isolated for 5 years. When she turned 18, my ex didn’t care because he is not getting $ from me anymore. When my daughter and I were connected, we slowly started talking and got closer and closer! God is good! Pray that your daughter will come back to you!!

      Like

  2. Wow! My children are still very young, I will take your advice and share my love verbally more often. Your letter comunicated a beautiful love for your daughter.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Such a loving, soulful letter Miriam! Touched my heart. I can feel the love oozing out from your heart for your daughter. No doubt she is as fine a human being as you are!
    May this bond stay strong and unbreakable lifelong and even after that… 💖💕

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Les mots pour ceux qu’on aime sont toujours émouvants,
    J’aime cet instant de partage, et j’ai appris avec le temps qu’il ne faut pas attendre 😉
    Les enfants sont précieux, l’avenir de demain et l’amour infini.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Miriam, this is lovely. I’m so delighted you have had the chance to be reunited with Mercy after so many long years apart. I think you may have mentioned this event before, and I also went through separation from my oldest son Leslie part of the time when he was young. My blessing was that when he became an adult he embraced our relationship and we shared many good conversations and experiences together. My heart goes out to you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

