Gratitude Moments #3

I started the first cycle of treatment on January 7, 2009 as scheduled. During my hospital stay, I wasn’t able to take a shower. As soon as I got home on Sunday after discharged, the first thing I wanted to do was to take a shower. I had no memory of how it happened, but my husband said I was so weak that I crawled to the bathroom to take a shower. The next day, I wanted to give the update to my family. These are a couple emails I sent to them during my resting weeks.

January 12, 2009

Dear family and friends,

I came home last night.  I should have been discharged at 11:00 a.m. but my potassium, magnesium and electrolytes were low, so I was put on IV for 17 hours to replenish those elements before I was discharged.

During the hospital stay, every minute was like forever. Eventually the medication worked into my body, so did the side effects. One medication burned my skin to red and purple, swollen, and dry. I looked like a red balloon. It will take 10 day for the color to get lighter. I had chills every day. The shaking could only be stopped by injection of medication.  The vomiting and diarrhea happened every day also, so I just stopped eating. With all the fluid going in from IV, I weighed 15 pounds more at discharge than at admission.

Today, Monday, January 12, I went to my first IV hydration in the doctor’s office – to flush out the toxicity, plus getting more mediation. A home nurse will come the next three day to do the same thing. The same routine will be done for next two Mondays at the doctor’s office. Each IV hydration last for 2 1/2 hour.

Today I felt there’s a hole in my stomach asking for food, so I ate.  Again, there it went through vomiting, nothing stayed in the stomach. So far my energy level is about 20 percent.

Thank you for your prayer and support.

I love you, Mom (Miriam)

======

January 23, 2009

Dear Family and friends,

I want to thank Jolyn for coordinating all the rides to and fro the doctor’s office and scheduling for people to bring us meals.  It reduced a lot of anxiety on Lynton because he traded his internship days, so that he could take me to the doctor’s office 3 times every cycle – those are early appointments and have to leave at 6:30am.

Also thank you for all cards with the encouraging words.  I feel like I’m resting peacefully on a soft but strong bed of prayer support, with no struggle, no reasoning, no anxiety, no anticipation, no worry, no “plan’” except hope; great hope to get well.  I have no questions for God, except a grateful heart.

Thank you for being in my life. Your prayers will carry me through to the end. The doctor wanted me to eat as much as possible to get fattened up for the next treatment.  The medication zapped out almost everything of my life.  My white blood count was so low that I had to put some gel in my nostrils twice a day; so that I wouldn’t catch any germs, because my body had no ability to fight off any bacteria.

I love you all, Mom (Miriam)

12 thoughts on “Gratitude Moments #3

  1. I don’t know what to say.even I don’t know u personally but ur post and especially this one made me to know u more .I think this is the beauty of blogging knowing a person ,their thoughts feeling and life.this is for sure it made me to appreciate ,life a bit more.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

